Skip to Content

Vegetarian Cuisine

In Acapulco, restaurants understand “vegetarian” to mean the absence of meat (including seafood) and meat derivatives in the food. Those seeking to avoid all animal products (including eggs, dairy and honey) need to make very specific inquiries of someone at the restaurant who might know. Many traditional Mexican foods, like salsa and guacamole or rice and bean burritos, can be vegetarian. Check to be sure that the tortilla chips (totopos) and the refried beans are not prepared with animal fat or that the rice has not been made with chicken fat. Most quesadillas and tacos made with beans can be vegetarian, as well as many chilaquiles and bean-pies. Chile sin carne, rice and black beans, cheese enchiladas, vegetable fajitas and chiles rellenos round out the options.

Real Acapulco Newsletter